Spiced Haddock & Coconut Soup

This is another of my store cupboard recipes. I always have some smoked haddock in the freezer and the other items I will have as a matter of course.

I only had to go buy the parsley, but in the summer I have heaps of it in my garden.

I made this a few weeks ago when a friend came to visit. She liked it and asked for the recipe. Being a total airhead I promised it to her and promptly forgot to send it.

Today is her birthday, I hope I have saved a little face.

Happy Birthday Katy, love you lots my lovely friend πŸ˜€

DSCN2644

Spiced Haddock & Coconut Soup

DSCN2648

2 red onions
4 carrots
3 stalks of celery
2 tbsp Olive oil or Sunflower oil
4 cloves of garlic
1 tbsp Korma curry powder
1 tsp dried Coriander leaves
1 tsp dried Oregano
1 tsp dried Dill
1 tbsp Nam Plaa (Fish water or Fish Sauce or 2 anchovy fillets)
1 lemon, zested and juiced
1 lt / 2 pints Vegetable stock (from a cube is just fine)
1 lt / 2 pints Coconut Milk
125 ml White Vermouth/ Wine or even a nice dry Cider or Perry
1 bunch spring onions
1 bay leaf
400 g /14 oz un-dyed smoked Haddock
60g / 2 oz Flat leafed parsley

Peel or wash all the vegetables.

Chop into smallish pieces the red onions, carrots and celery.
Heat the oil in a 3 lt / 6 pt pan.

Add the onions, celery and carrot, let them cook on a high heat until they are just starting to colour.

DSCN2658

Roughly chop the garlic and add it to the pan

DSCN2642

As they start to colour nicely add the curry powder, the dried herbs stir them in.

DSCN2668

Pour in the Nam Plaa, lemon juice and zest, stock, Vermouth and coconut milk.

Put the lid on and bring to the boil.

DSCN2665

In the meantime skin the fish.

And cut into 1 cm chunks.

DSCN2683

Lower the pot to a simmer and add the fish.

DSCN2677

Slice through the spring onions and roughly chop the parsley.

Add these to the pan and cook for about 30 minutes.

DSCN2685

That’s it, done!

DSCN2692

I suggest you cook some rice noodles to have in the bottom of the bowl but just as it is, is divine! πŸ™‚

Come and see me on Saturdays’ at Bermondsey Square Farmers Market in Southwark. It’s just off Tower Bridge Road, a short walk from The White Cube, Southbank and Borough Market.
All new customers will get a lovely washable cotton shopper as a ‘Thank you and please come again next week’ (Whie stocks last!)

Every Friday at about 6 pm GMT I publish photos of the items I have cooked for market. Have a look at the Facebook page.

email me scarletrositafood@btinternet.com
phone or text 0792 310 9170
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/ScarletRosita
or follow me on Twitter
https://twitter.com/ScarletRosita
Follow Me on Pinterest

4 thoughts on “Spiced Haddock & Coconut Soup

    • It is, it kind of looks like there is a lot to do, but there really isn’t and it is so light and flavourful, a real treat
      Thanks for taking the time to comment, I like feed back
      πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

