RAW! The Full Morten Cream Banana Tart (No Added Fat, No Added Sugar, Soya Free, Gluten Free, Vegan)

On my market stall I have a regular that loves cake but doesn’t like cake ingredients. With huge gratitude to him and his gentle insistence that I persevere, I eventually got to a recipe I call ‘Morten You Drive Me Crazy Banana Buns’ that is Dairy Free, No Added Fat, No Added Sugar, Soya Free, Gluten and Wheat Free.

So last week he tried one of the RAW! puddings and asked if I could try one with Bananas. I have had a couple of attempts that were not really good enough, but this one is really good.

DSCN2762

I am taking it down for him tomorrow. I really hope he likes it. ANd I hope you make it and like it too.

Wish me luck

πŸ˜€

The Full Morten Cream Banana Tart

Crust ingredients:
1 cup cashews
1 cup ground hazelnuts
1/2 cup coconut flour
1 cup dates (Medjool are the best but really expensive so you can just use dried dates)
1/4 teaspoon sea salt

The full Morten Banana filling:
8 medium bananas
360 g /12 oz cashews
240 g / 8 oz soaked dried papaya
65 ml lime juice
4 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon sea salt
275 ml almond milk
75 g / 1.5 oz chia seeds

Cling film line a 20 cm square cake tin.
Place all base ingredients in the food processor and blitz it until the everything sticks together.
Press the base mixture into your cling film lined pan. I suggest you spread the base mixture into the pan, cover it with another layer of cling film and you use a similar sized pan to fit over it and press it down really firmly.
Turn the base onto a dehydrator sheet and dry for 8 hours at 38˚C
After this the base will have a pleasing crispness that will withstand the moisture from the filling.
Once the base has cooled you need to add a collar of tin foil to the pan you pressed the base in, that will rise over the edge by 3 cm.
Re line the pan and the collar with more cling film.
That’s the base done.

DSCN2627.

For the topping add to the processor the cashews, banana, papaya, lime juice, salt and vanilla and process until very smooth.
Once this is very smooth you can add the almond milk whilst the machine is running.
Finally add the chia seeds.
Pour the mixture onto the base and smooth it with the back of a spoon.
Freezer for 3 hours, at least.
As you want to serve it, take it from the freezer into the fridge. After 2 hours it will be a firm ice cream texture, it will cut beautifully!

DSCN2757

And if you leave it in the fridge for 4 hours it will be a delightfully soft texture and more of those complex flavours will bounce out.
A really special pudding

πŸ˜€

DSCN2759

Come and see me on Saturdays’ at Bermondsey Square Farmers Market in Southwark. It’s just off Tower Bridge Road, a short walk from The White Cube, Southbank and Borough Market.
All new customers will get a lovely washable cotton shopper as a ‘Thank you and please come again next week’ (Whie stocks last!)

Every Friday at about 6 pm GMT I publish photos of the items I have cooked for market. Have a look at the Facebook page.

email me scarletrositafood@btinternet.com
phone or text 0792 310 9170
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/ScarletRosita
or follow me on Twitter
https://twitter.com/ScarletRosita
Follow Me on Pinterest

13 thoughts on “RAW! The Full Morten Cream Banana Tart (No Added Fat, No Added Sugar, Soya Free, Gluten Free, Vegan)

    • I NEARLY DID!!!!!!!!!!!
      Try it and tell me how it goes … oh my word I so want to do that now.
      I used the papaya as once dried the flavour is so subtle and I wanted the Banana flavour to be most prominent. I thought about the Mango as it would be a delicious compliment to the flavour.
      Please do it and tell me what you think πŸ™‚

  1. It looks like your persistence was worth it! That looks amazing, you are very talented. Do you think there is anything I could use instead of a dehydrating sheet or should I just get some?

    • You can try using an ordinary oven. On the lowest setting with the door just propped shut-ish.
      But where do you live? If you live in a hot place just get the base onto a sheet (even a cooling rack lined with parchment if you have no dehydrator sheets) and set them in a sunny spot with a loose cover of a fresh tea towel) and check it every couple of hours.
      In Italy the Nonna’s sit out side just in the shade with massive drying screen in the full sun and they turn the tomatoes or peppers or whatever it is they’re drying, that is all the dehydrator simulates.
      I don’t have a Nonna nor do I have any sunshine, drat πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for that, it is really yum and you know yourself, sometimes people come over and you want to do something special that everyone can eat and this is good – expect for people who don’t eat banana …
      (I didn’t know people didn’t eat banana)
      πŸ˜€

  2. Wow! That looks delicious. I just discovered your site and really love your style. I recently had a yummy banana ‘cheesecake’ at a local restaurant and have been dreaming of making something similar. I can’t wait to try this pudding!

    • Oh excellent! Get their recipe too!

      Come back later today as I’m blogging the RAW! Lemon Tart recipe, I LOVE it.

      Got to get back to cooking now as it’s the market tomorrow

      πŸ˜€

  3. Pingback: Shine on award | aristonorganic

Leave a Reply

