Mexican Chocolate Coffee Cake

I had never heard of this cake until I read a ‘WordPress’ post ( Please see comments boxes for http).

Screen shot 2013-02-08 at 16.24.26

And it wasn’t like any recipe I had tried before, so I thought I needed to give it a go.

DSCN2732

If you look at the original recipe you’ll see I’ve made a few changes and I hope these are for the better. I have taken out the butter and this makes for an ethereal, soft cake which works really well with the Cream Cheese.

The praline is easy to do. Please go here for the recipe.

This is now one of my favourites – really great for a ‘Grown Up’s’ Birthday.

🙂

Mexican Chocolate Coffee Cake

DSCN2726

375 ml cup strong coffee
120g / 4 oz cocoa

Heat the coffee and stir in the marshmallows to melt them.
Set aside to cool.

DSCN2736

500g / 1 lb Self Raising flour
740g / 1lb 4 oz sugar
1 tsp. nutmeg
3 beaten eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
250ml vegetable oil
185ml live yogurt

DSCN2728

Line a 3 x 21cm cake tins with parchment paper.
Preheat the oven to 350˚F/180˚C/Gas 4.
Combine flour, sugar, nutmeg.
Whisk together the eggs, vanilla, oil and yogurt. Whisk in coffee mix.

DSCN2737

Pour the wet into the dry and fold together quickly.
Divide between the 3 parchment lined tins.
Bake for approximately 30 – 35 minutes.
Allow to cool in the tins.
This is a delicate cake.


360g / 12 oz. Cream cheese, room temperature
6 oz. powdered sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
90g / 3 oz melt chocolate
Empty the cheese into a bowl add the sugar and vanilla and mix well to form a nice soft icing. No need for over vigorous beating.
Spread over the cooled cake. On each layer add a drizzle of the melted chocolate.

I added the almond praline as a dramatic finish.

https://scarletrosita.wordpress.com/2013/02/15/almond-praline/

DSCN2769

Come and see me on Saturdays’ at Bermondsey Square Farmers Market in Southwark. It’s just off Tower Bridge Road, a short walk from The White Cube, Southbank and Borough Market.
All new customers will get a lovely washable cotton shopper as a ‘Thank you and please come again next week’ (Whie stocks last!)

Every Friday at about 6 pm GMT I publish photos of the items I have cooked for market. Have a look at the Facebook page.

email me scarletrositafood@btinternet.com
phone or text 0792 310 9170
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/ScarletRosita
or follow me on Twitter
https://twitter.com/ScarletRosita
Follow Me on Pinterest

4 thoughts on “Mexican Chocolate Coffee Cake

  1. Pingback: Almond Praline | scarletrosita

Leave a Reply

