Pink Grapefruit Drizzle Buns (Vegan)

I love food!

I have worked as a chef for 31 years, for 6 years before that I was obsessed with cooking and for 8 years before that I’d help my Mumma in the kitchen and for 2 before that I just liked eating.

And I like my food to be delicious – that’s it. I will happily enjoy and appreciate whatever as long as care and a little love has gone into it.

I now have a little stall on a market in London and I used to work in a vegetarian restaurant where I made lots of Vegan food. Sometimes it would be hard to coax the Vegetarians to try the Vegan food – so on my stall it can be really hard to have people try the Vegan food. And I know why that is – because sometimes it’s too hard core, too much about the Ethics and the actual taste is by-the-by.

I want everyone to be open to trying all food. It’s fun to have a sneaky peek at what we are eating and have a rethink. So let’s have great food as the shining light that gets people interested.

By the way I have read some great blogs on here:
http://wordpress.com/#!/read/blog/id/41474188/ great work
http://wordpress.com/#!/read/blog/id/46411464/ lovely stuff

So, back to the point of this ramble … the cakes … sometimes they just are sweet 😦

This is a recipe that will blow your socks off. Really bright and fresh, still sweet but lots of other flavour too.

😀

DSCN2695

Try it, I really hope you like it.

Pink Grapefruit Drizzle Buns
makes 12 buns
300g /10 oz Self-Raising Flour
120g /4 oz G&W Free Self-Raising Flour
300g / 10 oz Caster Sugar
zest of 1 pink grapefruit
180ml / 6 fl oz Sunflower Oil
300ml / 14 fl oz liquid – use all the juice from the pink grapefruit (bar 12 teaspoons for the glaze) and make up the measure with water
150g / 5 oz Icing sugar

DSCN1923

Pre-heat the oven to 375˚F/ 190℃/ Gas mark 5

Either grease and flour 12 pudding moulds (which I prefer) or line a 12 hole muffin tray with paper cases.

DSCN1945

DSCN1950

Zest and juice your lovely, fat grapefruit.

DSCN1944

Put the flour, sugar and grapefruit zest in a bowl and mix well.

DSCN1952

Mix the water, juice and oil together in a jug

DSCN1951

( I always add in the pinky fleshy parts into the batter too, they make a nice zesty, juicy, occasional texture)

DSCN1955

And then add to the dry mixture.

DSCN1956

Stirring the mixture well

DSCN1957

Until fully combined.

DSCN1958

Use an ice-cream scoop or a tablespoon to evenly divide the mixture between the prepared moulds.

DSCN1960

Bake for 30 minutes, until golden and cooked in the centre.

DSCN1975

Once the buns are cooked, take them out of the oven and pierce with a cocktail stick all over the top.

Screen shot 2013-02-06 at 08.39.36

Mix the icing sugar & remaining grapefruit juice together until smooth & pour a teaspoon at a time over the top of the cakes, or use a brush to repeatedly brush the cakes – while they are still hot.

DSCN1986

Leave them to cool fully.

DSCN1983

That’s it – job done, a Vegan cake that is bright with mouth watering flavours.
Simple and lovely!

DSCN2693

DSCN2695

Come and see me on Saturdays’ at Bermondsey Square Farmers Market in Southwark. It’s just off Tower Bridge Road, a short walk from The White Cube, Southbank and Borough Market.
All new customers will get a lovely washable cotton shopper as a ‘Thank you and please come again next week’ (Whie stocks last!)

Every Friday at about 6 pm GMT I publish photos of the items I have cooked for market. Have a look at the Facebook page.
email me scarletrositafood@btinternet.com
phone or text 0792 310 9170
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/ScarletRosita
or follow me on Twitter
https://twitter.com/ScarletRosita
Follow Me on Pinterest

4 thoughts on “Pink Grapefruit Drizzle Buns (Vegan)

  1. I am trying this one Scarlet. Of the grapefruits the pink is my favorite one. In Arizona were it is desert, my grandmother had a pink grapefruit tree. Oh boy did I have fun picking the fruit with her. Because I knew later we were having grapefruit. It was the best times with my little granny. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing Scarlet.

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

