Mushroom Soup (with room for the Vegan too)

We eat soup so often in this house. I love it’s standby nature. There is something that makes my heart glad when I make some really good soup, all fresh natural ingredients and I pop it into the fridge for anyone to help themselves to a bowl when they need it.

DSCN2798

And it just could not be easier, honestly it is quicker than driving to a take away and you will not have to suffer those ‘just ate yucky stuff’ feelings afterwards either.

See how I’m taking care of you

πŸ˜€

DSCN2780

Mushroom Soup

2 large onions chopped
3 cloves of garlic chopped
60 ml /2 fl oz olive oil
500g / 1 lb mushrooms
2 -3 teaspoons dried tarragon
1.5 liters / 3 pints Vegetable stock
500 ml / 1 pt soya cream or double cream
2 tablespoons of cornflour

DSCN2784

Use a cloth to clean the mushrooms of any dirt, if possible don’t wash them in water as they will go soggy.
Heat the oil over a high heat in a nice capacious pan.

DSCN2787

Add the mushrooms, you want to hear a wild sizzling coming from them as they start to brown up very quickly.
Add in the onions and turn the heat down to medium high and allow them to start to brown too.
Add the garlic, stir and allow to cook for another minute.
Add the tarragon and add the hot vegetable stock.
Bring it to the boil and allow to cook for 5 minutes.
While that happens, mix the cream and the cornflour together.
As the soup boils add the cream mix in and stir well.
Bring back up to the boil then turn off.

DSCN2794

You now need to blend the soup. I like to use a stick / immersion blender but you can use a liquidizer or a food processor.

DSCN2801

Eat!

DSCN2804

Told you it was quick.

Come and see me on Saturdays’ at Bermondsey Square Farmers Market in Southwark. It’s just off Tower Bridge Road, a short walk from The White Cube, Southbank and Borough Market.
All new customers will get a lovely washable cotton shopper as a ‘Thank you and please come again next week’ (Whie stocks last!)

Every Friday at about 6 pm GMT I publish photos of the items I have cooked for market. Have a look at the Facebook page.

email me scarletrositafood@btinternet.com
phone or text 0792 310 9170
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/ScarletRosita
or follow me on Twitter

Follow Me on Pinterest

4 thoughts on “Mushroom Soup (with room for the Vegan too)

  1. Hey there! So glad that you have some vegan recipes. This soup looks wonderful. I’m making pizza for dinner tonight, but maybe I’ll try this next week. I bet it would be great with some Kalamatta olive bread.

Leave a comment