Blueberry Superfood Layer Cake – Gluten free, No Added Sugar, Vegan

If you have looked at my Facebook page you will have seen the recipe that inspired this recipe.

I liked the recipe because it looked like it may be something that I would eat in the morning. Mostly I don’t want to eat in the morning, I am very satisfied to have a juice or a tea. But when I do feel I need to eat then it will be an urge I cannot ignore. I can eat cereals and breads (those typical things) but I find that they very rarely fulfil their promise of keeping me full until lunchtime. Even porridge (- with a banana on it!) which seems to do it for everybody else, will have me scouting around for something 30 minutes later.

DSCN3239

So I thought the original recipe looked like it had potential, but I didn’t want the sugar, I wanted it Vegan and I wanted to add more ingredients that would rack up the nutritional content as well as really extending the ‘full up filling’.

DSCN3208

And, as you will have noticed, I am loving the RAW! foods, so I decided to fill this with a seriously delicious RAW! cream.

DSCN3201

Bearing all that in mind, it is a great little cake. It is delicious (do not expect chocolate fudge sweetness) and after eating it I did not have a serotonin crash, didn’t have a weird bloating and belly ache and that horrid sense of ‘just ate something that will do me no favours and it didn’t even taste nice’.

I love a ‘Win, Win’ situation!

😀

Blueberry Superfood Layer Cake
Gluten free, No Added Sugar, Vegan

150 ml fresh carrot (or orange) juice
5 tsp ground golden linseeds
30 g / 1 oz Chia seeds
1 tsp Vanilla extract
240 g/ 8 oz coconut flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp sea salt
60 g / 2 oz goji berries (or raisins – this is the sweetness) ground in a food processor
30 g / 1 oz Sunflower seeds ground in a food processor
30 g / 1 oz Pumpkin seeds ground in a food processor
1 tbsp Maca Root Powder
1 tbsp Lucuma Powder
100 ml Almond milk
60 ml / 2 fl oz Coconut oil
180 g/ 6 oz raspberries (or Blueberries, what you like)
4 oz Pine nuts

Grease and parchment line 2 x 23 cm cake tins.

Pre heat the oven to Gas 4/ 350˚F/180˚C.

DSCN3222

Soak the chia seeds

Screen shot 2013-02-26 at 08.55.10

and ground linseeds

DSCN3210

in the carrot juice for 30 minutes. It will start to thicken.

DSCN3217

Sift together the flour, baking powder, salt,

Screen shot 2013-02-26 at 08.55.20

goji berries, pumpkin, sunflower seeds, maca root and Lucuma.

DSCN3215

Give it a whisk to mix.

DSCN3212

Melt the coconut oil.

DSCN3214

Add the oil, almond milk and vanilla into the juice chia seed mix and give it a whisk.

DSCN3223

Now whisk the wet into the dry.

Fold in the fresh fruit (my choice today was raspberries).

Divide evenly between the two tins and smooth over evenly.

DSCN3224

Bake for 45 minutes. Swap their positions in the oven half way through the cooking time.

Cook on wire racks in the tin for 20 minutes. Then turn out and remove the parchment paper.

Cool completely.

RAW! Delicious Filling

DSCN3226

1 medium avocado
30 ml / 1 fl oz coconut oil
1 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp lemon/ lime juice
240 g / 8 oz almonds
Pinch of salt
60 g /2 oz agave nectar
1 tbsp Lucuma powder

Grind the almonds in a coffee grinder until almost a butter.

DSCN3231

Then blend the avocado, vanilla, lime juice, salt, Lucuma and agave nectar in the food processor until smooth and creamy.

DSCN3229

Add in the almonds and blend again, add the coconut oil and blend just for another 2 seconds.

DSCN3232

Spread onto the cooled cake.

DSCN3235

Yum yum!

DSCN3237

email me scarletrositafood@btinternet.com
phone or text 0792 310 9170
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/ScarletRosita
or follow me on Twitter

https://twitter.com/ScarletRosita

Come and see me on Saturdays’ at Bermondsey Square Farmers Market in Southwark. It’s just off Tower Bridge Road, a short walk from The White Cube, Southbank and Borough Market.
All new customers will get a lovely washable cotton shopper as a ‘Thank you and please come again next week’ (Whie stocks last!)

Every Friday at about 6 pm GMT I publish photos of the items I have cooked for market. Have a look at the Facebook page.

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Superfood Layer Cake – Gluten free, No Added Sugar, Vegan

Leave a Reply

