Chocolate & Apple Cake

I have had so many people contact me recently because they are suffering from a wheat and/or gluten sensitivity. I have suffered this at various points in my life and I know how miserable and difficult it can make life. But unless you are allergic or a Coeliac, it can get better and as long as you do not eat gluten strengthened bread, pastries, biscuits etc, you will be able to eat wheat again. After all it is a lovely sweet grain, but I know I can never eat cheap bread, or anything from a high street or supermarket bakery (just set me off again). So no Cheese and Onion Pasty for me, but I can very happily make Cheese and Onion Pie at home (Oooh now there’s an idea!)

DSCN4104

I made this as a practice recipe, but it turned out really well. I put the photo onto Facebook and it was really well received, so I said I would blog it today.

So not the usual amount of photos but you can see what a lovely moist cake it is.

If this is too large a cake then halve the recipe and bake in a 23 cm cake tin.

Chocolate & Apple Cake

180g / 6 oz Butter
180g / 6 oz Muscavado sugar
6 Eggs
7 oz Gluten Free Self Raising Flour
90 g / 3 oz Cocoa powder
240g / 8 oz sweet eating apples
a pinch of sea salt
1 teaspoon of baking powder

Set oven to 350˚F/180˚C/ Gas 4.
Parchment line or greaseproof paper or butter and flour a 29 cm cake pan.
Wash the skins and then grated the apple on a large hole.
Break the eggs and beat with a fork to break up.
Sift together the flour, salt, cocoa and baking powder.
Melt the butter in a large pan.
Cool slightly then beat in the sugar.
Add the egg and beat to incorporate.
Add in the flour mixture and grated apple then fold to mix.
Divide between the pans.
Bake for 1 hour and 10 -15 minutes, until a skewer comes out clean.
Turn onto a cooling rack (make sure you turn it again so that the bottom of the cake is on the rack as the top will still be a little tender and a little stickier than a usual sponge).

DSCN4098

If you like you can top with a Chocolate butter cream

120g / 4 oz Butter
240g / 8 oz Icing sugar
90 g / 3 oz Cocoa powder
60 ml / 2 fl oz strong black coffee

Have the butter at room temperature.
Beat until soft. then sift the icing sugar and cocoa and start to fold, stir and then beat it into the butter.
Finally add the coffee and beat until very light and fluffy.

DSCN4099

Come and see me on Saturdays’ at Bermondsey Square Farmers Market in Southwark. It’s just off Tower Bridge Road, a short walk from The White Cube, Southbank and Borough Market.
All new customers will get a lovely washable cotton shopper as a ‘Thank you and please come again next week’ (Whie stocks last!)

Every Friday at about 6 pm GMT I publish photos of the items I have cooked for market. Have a look at the Facebook page.

email me scarletrositafood@btinternet.com
phone or text 0792 310 9170
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/ScarletRosita
or follow me on Twitter
https://twitter.com/ScarletRosita
Follow Me on Pinterest

4 thoughts on “Chocolate & Apple Cake

    • Yes and it is richly chocolate-y. I had some chocolate butter cream and Daughter No2 had her slice with a little of that on top. But is moist and sweet with apple and I wouldn’t need the butter cream. 🙂

Leave a Reply

