Perfect Eggs #2 Scrambled

This is the second in a little collection inspired by my delightful Daughter No2. As I have said has had a confusing relationship with eggs, she likes the look and smell of them, we kept hens ourselves until a few years ago.

DSCN3769

And we loved them, they were a daily visitor into the house and of course we had to feed them and clean them and take care of them if they were poorly.

And there is nothing as exciting for a small child, used to animals, than to go out gathering the eggs in the morning. But she couldn’t eat them. Until recently!

And now a love affair has truly begun, she wants to learn how to cook them so that she can prepare a quick nutritious meal for herself. (‘ats ma gurl!)

Already her fragile confidence has started to build. I had hoped that my love of and daily practice of cooking would be somehow absorbed by my children, but it seems as though what it has done has created a very high standard that they feel they have to attain. I would never have wanted that. Sadly my mad love of the art that I have practiced with determination since the age of 8 has given the impression that it is effortless.

I regret this. I have had and still do have failures, recipes that do not work out and I have to try again.

I think my Mum did me a great favour, all be it ostensibly as in reality she was just very busy, fruit and veg to grow, 3 kids, animals everywhere. There wasn’t huge amounts of time for any instruction. But I was allowed to go in the kitchen and just ‘try’ to cook and everything was eaten with varying amounts of pleasure but always with gratitude as we were always hungry.

Enthusiastic eaters are an amazing spur to a keen but unskilled novice cook 😉

😀

We had these with
https://scarletrosita.wordpress.com/2013/01/07/cheese-scones-best-most-tasty-fool-proof-recipe/

DSCN3800

Perfect Eggs #2 Scrambled

2 or 3 eggs
Small non stick pan
a pinch of sea salt
1 teaspoon of butter
a splash of milk or water
a little chopped parsley (we like the taste)

DSCN3761

DSCN3763

Crack the eggs into a small bowl and whisk with a fork to break it up well. I add a pinch of salt at this point as it helps to break down the structure making a creamier dish. But if you do not take salt then just leave it out.

DSCN3778

DSCN3786

Melt the butter in the pan over a medium heat.

DSCN3790

DSCN3791

Once it is melted , turn the heat up and tip the egg into the pan and start stirring, making sure you get every tiny spot on the base of the pan.

DSCN3793

Once the dish is about 1/3 scrambled, turn the heat down to low and keep mixing very well.

DSCN3794

DSCN3795

As the egg looks 3/4 done, remove from the heat and ad the splash of milk or water.

DSCN3797

There is enough heat to finish cooking the egg. This way you get a delicious soft dish that is easy on the digestion as opposed to a dish you could bounce off the walls and sits in your stomach refusing to move on.

Carefully tip the egg mixture out onto your plate.

DSCN3799

Maybe add a flourish of chopped parsley.

Great stuff.

🙂

Come and see me on Saturdays’ at Bermondsey Square Farmers Market in Southwark. It’s just off Tower Bridge Road, a short walk from The White Cube, Southbank and Borough Market.
All new customers will get a lovely washable cotton shopper as a ‘Thank you and please come again next week’ (While stocks last!)

Every Friday at about 6 pm GMT I publish photos of the items I have cooked for market. Have a look at the Facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com/ScarletRosita

3 thoughts on “Perfect Eggs #2 Scrambled

  1. Great insight on how your love of cooking has affected your daughters. Am so glad #2 is in the kitchen 🙂 The egg dish looks mmmmmmm!

  2. I’m the same, I love eggs. I do miss our hens. So tempted to get more again, there’s nothing like gardening, raking, digging, with hens around your feet clearing away the seeds and pests 🙂

Leave a Reply

