Super Easy Tasty Bread

I don’t even try to make any sort of baked bread to sell commercially anymore as my kitchen is simply not set up for it. Sometimes I’m making raw foods, or chocolates and I don’t have the space.

Screen shot 2016-02-23 at 15.27.02

 

That doesn’t mean I don’t like bread and I want to be able to eat it but the stuff in supermarkets and sold by most bakers will do horrible things to my stomach. So when I want some bread to eat invariably I end up making it.

I know it sounds like a massive faff – but I have been doing this for over 30 years now and once you have your head set that this is how it will be done then you kinda just do it. Admittedly, a freezer bigger than an icebox would be great – but even that isn’t essential.

Straight away I will direct you to my sourdough starter recipe on here https://scarletrosita.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/biga-starter-grape-sourdough-starter/

Once this is fully on its way I freeze it. I then take it out the day before I’m baking and get it going again by adding more flour and water and I keep it going until the baking has been completed and then back into the freezer it goes until next time. It doesn’t let me down.

If you don’t want to use a starter then use 7 g of dried yeast, in a jug with a little date syrup and  warm water to activate it.

The addition of khorasan flour and spelt flour as well as sesame, sunflower, pumpkin and hemp seeds in this bread makes an extremely tasty and nutritious loaf.

 

Screen shot 2016-02-23 at 15.27.09

 

Makes 4 x 1lb loaves – which sounds like a lot – but I always use one and freeze the others asap so they still have that out of the oven freshness when I need to use them. I just don’t have time to go through this process that often.

7 oz of your sourdough starter or
7 g dried yeast (this comes in a little sachet or its a heaped teaspoonful)  in 200ml water water and 1 tsp date syrup or another natural sweetener
100g a bread flour that you like – but one with wheat
450g spelt wholemeal flour
450g khorasan flour
1.5 tbsp fine seasalt
200g sesame more for the tin
200g sunflower seeds
200g pumpkin seeds
 100g hemp seeds
50 ml olive, hemp or flax seed oil
another 700ml of warm water
I honestly don’t think this could be simpler.
Either add the 200ml of warm water to the 7g of yeast or the 7 oz of starter you want the yeast to ‘bloom’ – it goes nice and frothy and smells like something you’d like to eat.
Mix the starter to slacken it.
Put the flours into a capacious bowl (I do use a stand mixer now as I have other things to do).
Add the yeast/starter and the other 700 ml of water (500ml if you are hand mixing) and start by slowly mixing it and then either give it a full 20 minutes of kneading by hand and 5 minutes on the highest speed on your stand mixer.
Cover with a damp cloth or cling film and leave it in a warm spot to get going. It is entirely up to you how long you leave it. You could leave it for a couple of hours or you can leave it for 24 hours.
Now add the seasalt, oil and the seeds as it needs to be knocked back (a good kneading) for a couple of minutes.
If you are making the bread on a stand mixer the bread should be a soft- almost pourable dough – that is correct.
Grease and flour your bread tins.
Divide the dough equally between the tins.
Set your oven to Gas 8 230˚C 450˚F
Stand the tins in a warm place and cover with a damp t towel.
Give it 40 – 50 minutes and it should fill the tins or double in size. Allow it to double in size. If its cold in your house it will take longer.
Once its double put the t towel in for a wash and put the tins into the oven – 2 at the top, and 2 in the middle.
Allow them 30 minutes then swap the levels over.
Give it another 20 minutes and check that they are cooked.
Turn them out of the tin and give them 10 minutes before you cut them.
I bet they are good enough for you to happily eat them just plain!

Come and see me on Saturdays’ at Bermondsey Square Farmers Market in Southwark. It’s just off Tower Bridge Road, a short walk from The White Cube, Southbank and Borough Market.

email me scarletrositafood@gmail.com

phone or text 0792 310 9170

Facebook http://www.facebook.com/ScarletRosita

https://www.instagram.com/scarletrosita/

Leave a comment